Galaktlan “Constance”

Galaktlan “Constance”
SEKs061 (Buy here)

Released in 2005 by Kohvirecords, Galaktlan´s second album Constance is now reissued on vinyl.

Galaktlan, aka Taavi Laatsit has gathered here verbal and musical samples, synthesizer shimmerings, the precise beats and sounds of synthetic electronics but also more natural rhythm patterns and even string instruments. At times, the music blends into a haze of sound, at times forms detailed compositions with clear instrumental lines, eventually drawing a picture of a melancholic romantic magical world.

Hendrik Luuk gives Galaktlan a hand in a track „Kindralmidi“ on guitar and Ramo Teder, aka Pastacas, enriches „Laanetaguse“ with his unmistakably recognizable voice. Tristan Priimägi said in his review that if electronic music is usually inspired by realism, then Galaktlan is inspired by magic. It´s baroque electronica. „Constance is an ode to the times when people could be bothered to read poems and express their love for someone“, he wrote. Galaktlan has himself said that the title of the album is inspired by the world and thinking of Alexandre Dumas, by the beautiful Constance Bonacieux from „The three musketeers“, who was loved and adored by D’Artagnan. The last track of the album „Zolushka“, on the other hand, features as the main theme the Cinderella song from the Soviet animated film version of the fairytale. Such lyrical-nostalgic atmosphere is there through all 10 tracks.

Released on: March 20, 2017


A side:
01. Axister
02. Kindralmidi
03. Mode
04. Laanetaguse
05. Sünnipäev

B side:
01. Turbulents
02. Crystal
03. Foor
04. Please me
05. Zolushka

All tracks written, produced and mixed by Galaktlan between 2003-2005, except
A2 guitar and additional production by Hendrik Luuk
A4 guitar, vocals and additional production by Pastacas
B4 Original track “Ple:se Disco-Nnect Me” by Forgotten Sunrise.
B5 Original track composed by Igor Tsvetkov

Matered by Lauri Liivak.
Design by Kaarel Vahtramäe. Photography by Marita Mones.