Bizarre – Necro

Bizarre – Necro
SEKs069 (Buy here)

Seksound has become the curator of Bizarre’s catalog for some time, re-releasing both the debut album Beautica and their sophomore album Café de Flor. Now Seksound is releasing a set of recordings not yet heard in the form of an album in both digital and limited-edition vinyl formats.

Recorded and mixed between 1997 and 1998, Necro is the third full-length album released by Seksound. Ten tracks in total, a few of the songs from the release appeared on compilations throughout the years while others have yet to be heard by fans. At the time, the band consisted of Inga Jagomäe (vocals), Mart Eller (vocals), Lauri Liivak (electronica), Tristan Priimägi (guitar), and Anti Aaver (guitar). Creating a very unique and important shoegaze and dreampop scene in Estonia along with bands such as Pia Fraus and Picnic.

Never wanting to be pegged as a shoegaze or dreampop band, Bizarre always experimented with electronics and various writing structures during the life of the band. Necro demonstrates Bizarre’s elasticity as the tracks move from shoegaze and dreampop infused moments to dance permeated beats and ambient textures. Eclectic yet still sounding like the same band, from the wistful vocals of “Never Ever” to the funk infused
“International Love Affair”, Necro demonstrates the versatility of this foundational group.

Released on: June 04, 2018

Side A
01. Waters
02. Any Day
03. Summer Rain
04. Rentboy
05. Never Ever
B side
01. Laizy Sun
02. Barcode Warrior
03. Leatherette 04. International Love Affair
05. Super Satex Baby

All music written, produced and mixed by Lauri Liivak & Bizarre
Recorded & mixed 1997-1998 @ Forwards Studio, Tartu, Estonia & Orbital Vox Studio, Tallinn, Estonia
Mastered by Lauri Liivak @ Lauri Liivak Mastering, Pärnu, Estonia.
Lyrics by Tristan Priimägi, except “Never Ever” & “Leatherette” by Martin J. Palm and “International Love Affair” by Lauri Tikerpe & Mart Eller.
“Laizy Sun” is a rework of “Peeter Orbit” by Afternooning Plaque Family.
Bizarre: Inga Jagomäe, Mart Eller, Lauri Liivak, Tristan Priimägi, Anti Aaver.

Layout by Rele Liiv.
Band photos: Peeter Paasmäe

bizarre_by peeter_paasmae_2

bizarre_by peeter_paasmae_4bizarre_by peeter_paasmae_3