Picnic – The Weather’s Fine


Picnic – The Weather’s Fine
SEKs041 (Buy here)

Seksound presents The Weather’s Fine, the new album by Estonia’s Picnic, coming this May on limited edition LP vinyl (150 copies), CD and digital formats.
Picnic formed in 2006 by Marju Taukar, Andres Soosaar and Rivo Järvsoo. Marju and Andres were previously in 90s indie band Dreamphish and Rivo is a current member of Seksound label-mates Bad Apples. Picnic released their first album Winter Honey in 2010 and made their Shelflife debut last year with the now sold-out tribute 7″ “We’ve Only Just Begun” b/w “Say a Little Prayer.”
The Weather’s Fine features 11 tracks recorded over the past year. The band decided to take a different approach for this record, primarily using a more relaxed home studio environment and Rivo taking the lead in handling most of the initial tracking himself. They only returned to the studio for final mixing with help from friend Lauri Liivak (from Bizarre), who also worked on Pia Fraus’ Silmi Island. The warmth of instrumentation on The Weather’s Fine just feels comforting in contrast to the frozen winter landscape in hometown Tallinn. When asked about the title for the album, Rivo explained, “We are quite obsessed with the weather here in Estonia and it shows in the lyrics of the album.” Picnic have become masters at blending the ethereal and indie pop worlds, surrounding us throughout the album with spacious textures and glimmering oundscapes. The stunning beauty of their arrangements are filled with immaculate dream pop guitars and Marju’s mesmerizing vocals. The Weather’s Fine is an album that really begs to be absorbed all at once, from beginning to end.
The Weather’s Fine is a co-release with Shelflife in USA. For fans of: Cocteau Twins, Slowdive, Evening Lights, The Radio Dept., Pia Fraus, Ulrich Schnauss

01. Stop The Fall
02. I Am Here
03. Have It All
04. Forget Yourself Through The Beauty
05. Cinnamon
06. Too Fast
07. In This Cold
08. Colours
09. Here’s To You
10. Self Help Disorder
11. Goodnight

Released on: May 05, 2013